The South Carolina State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:
Department of Revenue
P.O. Package 12-5
Columbia, SC 29214
Sc lets you use the Federal W-4 form to assess state tax withholding.
Not all states allow income reductions made under Section 125 cafeteria strategies or 401( e) to be addressed in the same manner because the IRS code allows. In South Carolina cafeteria plans aren't taxable for tax calculation; not taxable for un-employment insurance purposes. 401( k) plan deferrals aren't taxable for revenue taxes; taxable for unemployment purposes.
In Sc supple-mental wages are taxed at a 7% flat rate.
You must file your South Carolina State W-2s by magnetic media if you're do have more than 25 workers and are required to file your federal W-2s by magnetic media.
The South Carolina State Unemployment Insurance Firm is:
Employment Security Commission
1550 Gadsden St.
P.O. Field 995
Columbia, S-c 29201
Their State of South Carolina taxable wage base for unemployment purposes is earnings as much as $7,000.00.
South Carolina requires Magnetic media reporting of quarterly wage reporting if the employer has at least 250 employees that they're reporting that quarter.
Unemployment records should be retained in South Carolina for a minimum period of five years. This information typically includes: name; social protection number; days of hire, rehire and termination; salaries by period; paycheck pay periods and pay dates; date and circumstances of termination.
The South Carolina State Agency charged with enforcing the state wage and hour laws is:
Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulations
Office of Labor Services
P.O. Field 11329
3600 Forest Drive
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
There is no provision for minimum wage in their State of South Carolina.
There is also no general provision in South Carolina State Law protecting spending over-time in a non-FLSA covered employer.
South Carolina State new hire r-eporting requirements are that every employer must report every new hire and re-hire. The employer must report the federally required elements of:
Employee's social security number
Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)
These details should be reported with-in 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The info could be delivered like a W-4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There's $500 for conspiracy in Sc and $25.00 penalty for a second offense late report.
The South Carolina new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 888-454-5294 or 803-898-9235 or on the net at www.state.sc.us/dss/csed/newhire.htm
Sc does let required direct deposit however the employee's choice of financial institution must meet federal Regulation Elizabeth regarding choice of financial institutions.
South Carolina requires the following information on an employee's pay stub:
Gross and Net Profits
South Carolina requires that staff be paid as given by company.
In Sc there are no statutory requirements concerning the lag time between if the employee has to be paid and if the services are performed.
South Carolina paycheck law requires that involuntarily finished employees must be paid their final pay with-in 4-8 hours or next regular pay-day (no more than 1 month). Voluntarily fired personnel must be paid their final pay with-in 48-hours or by the next regular payday (only thirty days). Learn more on the affiliated website - Click here: guide to online payroll.
There's no provision in Sc law regarding paying deceased employees.
Escheat laws in Sc require that unclaimed salaries be paid to the state after twelve months.
The company is more required in South Carolina to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of 10-years.
There is no pro-vision in South Carolina law concerning suggestion loans against State minimum wage.
In the South Carolina payroll law there is no pro-vision protecting essential sleep or meal times.
South Carolina law requires that wage and hour records be maintained for a period of no less than 3 years. These records will generally contain a minimum of the data required under FLSA.
The South Carolina organization charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and regulations is:
Child Support Enforcement Division
Department of Social Services
P.O. Field 1469
Columbia, SC 29202-1469
South Carolina has the following provisions for child support deductions:
When to start Withholding? Next pay period after service.
When to send Payment? With-in 1 week of Payday.
When to deliver Termination Notice? Within 20 days of firing.
Maximum Administrative Fee? $3 per fee.
Withholding Restrictions? National Principles under CCPA.
Please note that this report is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time..